Wilcox Award

The Wilcox Award was established in 1945 to perpetuate the memory of Minnie Sneed Wilcox, who founded the club in 1923 and served as president until her death in 1941.

Recipients of this award are the first and second place winners among 9th through 11th grade contestants in the high school competition.  Due to the pandemic, no competition for these grades was held in 2020 and 2021.  The first place award for 2024 is $2600 and the second place award is $2400

The Wilcox Awards are supported by the club budget, individual contributions, earned interest, and the Steinway Piano Gallery of Austin.


First and Second Place Winners of the Wilcox Award since 2005 are as follows:

2023 Jiaton Gao, Piano —————Peter Kim, Violin

2023 This year there were also 5 honorable mentions (Nadia Verlinksy, Flute — Yochen Zhong, Cello  — Lerchen Zhong, Violin — Vincent Cao, Piano — Joseph Zhang, Violin

2022  Thomas Nguyen, Piano———Peter Kim, Violin

2019  Kellan Cao, Piano ———- Sophia Amalia Ayer, Violin

2018  Eliot Kim, Violin ——— Kevin Yu, Piano

2017  Margaret Seo, Violin ——–  Corbin King, Tenor

2016 Jonathan Qi, Piano  ——– Isabelle Hsiao, Piano

2015  Eunice Lee, Piano  ——   Juhee Suh, Violin

2014  Grace Song, Violin  ——  Edward Wang,  Piano

2013  Rebecca Chen, Piano  ——  Daniel Smarda, Flute

2012  Christopher Henselman, Piano  ——  Edward Wang, Piano

2011  Steven Lai, Piano  ——  Wells Leng, Piano

2010  Danny Chen, Violin  and Katie Velasquez, Flute (tie)  ——  Jessica Hwang, Piano

2009  Michelle Suh, Violin  —–  Danny Chen, Violin

2008  Jonathan Chang, Violin  ——  Jonathan Torkelson, Violin

2007  Nola Lu, Piano  ——  Christina Torkelson, Piano

2006  Stephanie Chen, Piano  ——  Joseph O’Hara, Saxophone


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

A WordPress site